Skip to main content

Design by Time



Blue and White ceramic vase bent toward right with greenery sticking out
(For Moooi), "Blow Away Vase", 2008. Image courtesy of Moooi.

Design by Time

April 1–August 15, 2021

Guest Curators: Ginger Gregg Duggan and Judith Hoos Fox of c2-curatorsquared.

Design by Time is organized by the Department of Exhibitions, Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, New York. ​Additionally, Design by Time is supported as part of the Dutch Culture USA program by the Consulate General of the Netherlands in New York.

The Museum of Craft and Design’s exhibitions and programs are generously supported by the Windgate Foundation and Grants for the Arts. Additional support is provided by Robyn and John Horn, Hunter Douglas, and Dorothy Saxe.


Design by Time explores how the dynamic passage of time can be embodied within design objects. Instead of being stable and obdurate, the works brought together here embody durational movement. Some designers embrace natural and mechanical processes—the growth of plant materials, the pull of gravity, the transformational potential of fire. Some translate temporal activities into visual forms, such as music and drawing. Examples come from many sectors of the design world: textiles, carpets, vessels, lighting fixtures, fashion, clocks, and furniture for example.

Design by Time is the first exhibition to identify and bring together designers whose interest is in expressing the passage of time, a visual expression of life, through the design of objects. They come from across Europe and the US, 22 artists and collaboratives from 8 countries. There are both known and emerging practitioners, including iconic names, such as Maarten Baas and Hussein Chalayan, and recently graduated designers such as Jacob Olmedo.

Atelier Mark Sturkenboom


Maarten Baas


Sebastian Brajkovic

Hussein Chalayan

Edhv, Architects of Identity

Patrick Frey



Marlène Huissoud

Humans since 1982

William Lamson

Mathieu Lehanneur

mischer’traxler studio

Jacob Olmedo

Diana Scherer

Sebastian Cox Workshop

Bartholomäus Traubeck

Nicole Wermers

Jólan van der Wiel

Ryan Mario Yasin

Stay up to date on all things MCD!